. . .Say What?

useless, one-way conversations

52 Movies in 52 Weeks: Week 18: Bedtime Stories

I had been intending to see this film for quite a while, but just recently got around to it.
I thought it was ok, nothing outstanding but nonetheless entertaining.
Sometimes, I felt that Sandler  slipped into his former self- with his weird voices and characteristics that one saw again and again in trailers for that silly Zohan movie that came out sometime last year. I find those voices weird and unappealing, so I didn’t see that one. Lucky, because I think I would have hated it worse than the critics (who coincidentally weren’t the least bit kind to it).

I thought that Keri Russell did very well to get out from under that ridiculous movie August Rush she did a while ago. That’s the kind of project that  you just can’t figure out how it came to be. You’d think that at some point, somebody involved would have been even a little bit honest and put the brakes on that trainwreck. That was horrible. But this one brought some redemption to Ms. Russell.  Guy Pierce was a little bit funny, but not enough to make it much of a comedy. Truthfully, I prefer Sandler in films such as Punch Drunk Love and Reign O’er Me. More dramatic pictures seem to suit him almost better. Guess we’ll see what he chooses to do in the future.

My rating: B

May 7, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

